TRAVELERS TURN OFF GREEN HABITS WHEN ON HOLIDAYS

The Travel Foundation has launched the first Make Holidays Greener week to remind people to be environmentally friendly when they are on holiday.

Did you know that almost 90% of people say that they regularly recycle bottles, cans and paper in their day-to-day life, but less than half keep up the good work when they go away?

There are some really simple things that we can all do when we’re on holiday, and if we do these things it can make a real difference to the environment and to local people in our destination.

Unfortunately, generally people forget their green habits when they arrive at their destination.

A survey conducted by The Travel Foundation states that their survey revealed that one in five holidaymakers admitted they switch off completely when on a beach break and don’t consider the environment.

A real problem is that holiday accommodation does not provide enough green facilities or advice. You come to a new hotel that you have never been to; so how do they communicate to you their green policies and practices and how you can participate, it just doesn’t happen.

Travel Foundation has launched the green week from 26 June to 3 July to encourage travelers to do three things on their summer break that will make a difference.

Here are a list of green tips and activities you can do while your on your holiday:

· have short showers instead of baths to save water;

· use alternatives to plastic bags to reduce the amount of harmful waste that goes into landfill,

· turn off the lights when you leave the room

· keep the air conditioning at a reasonable level

What other suggestions and recommendations do you have? Please feel free to add to this important discussion.

17 thoughts on “TRAVELERS TURN OFF GREEN HABITS WHEN ON HOLIDAYS

  1. I think recycling is the biggest thing that we don’t do when we’re away traveling. it’s easier to do than you think. You can also just reduce the amount of waste you use by doing things like bringing a water bottle with you.

  2. I know I’m a little late in contributing my thoughts but this particular blog post made a lot of sense to me and I enjoyed it. It was an intriguing blog post. I have become a returning visitor to your blog since I came across your site a while back. I can’t say that I agree with all you mentioned but it was definitely absorbing ! Thank you again for a fascinating article. I will return again soon.

  3. This fantatic post was very nicely written, and it also contains many good facts. I appreciated your professional way of writing the post. You have made it easy for me to understand. Good and precise info.

  4. This is my first time I have visited here. I found a lot of interesting stuff in your blog. From the volume of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the impressive work.

  5. Good weblog, just looking around some blogs, seems a pretty good platform you are using. I am presently using BlogEngine for a couple of of my websites but looking to alter one of them more than to a platform similar to yours like a trial operate. Anything in specific you’d recommend about it?

  6. I realy liked your angle that you have on the topic. Certainly wasn’t planning on this at the time I begun browsing for tips. Your ideas were totally easy to get. Happy to find that there’s an person here that obviously understands on the spot what its is talking about.

  7. I don’t usually post on blogs but had to on yours. You have a very easy to read writing style. I really enjoy posts about this topic, they give me a lot to reflect on. I don’t have time to read everything right now, I found this site when looking for something else on Yahoo, but I’ve bookmarked your homepage and will check back soon to see the latest thoughts.

  8. A very well constructed post. Thank you very a lot for posting this. Additionally, I want to point out that you have a superb theme to your blog! Sustain the nice work!

  9. You made some nice points there. I did a search on the topic and found nearly all people will go along with with your blog.

  10. Generally seeing an additional person’s level of the sun enlighten my vision. I’m not really going to about to say precisely what everyone else has recently stated , but i must say, My partner and i cant envision how much with this I just was not conscious of .Thank you for publishing more details to this matter for us.

Leave a Reply

