Over 300 Pollutants in U.S. Tap Water

Since 2004, testing by water utilities has found 315 pollutants in the tap water Americans drink, according to an Environmental Working Group (EWG) drinking water quality analysis of almost 20 million records obtained from state water officials.

More than half of the chemicals detected are not subject to health or safety regulations and can legally be present in any amount. The federal government does have health guidelines for others, but 49 of these contaminants have been found in one place or another at levels above those guidelines, polluting the tap water for 53.6 million Americans. The government has not set a single new drinking water standard since 2001.

Water utilities spend 19 times more on water treatment chemicals every year than the federal government invests in protecting lakes and rivers from pollution in the first place.

Based on these data, EWG believes the federal government has a responsibility to do a national assessment of drinking water quality. It should establish new safety standards, set priorities for pollution prevention projects, and tell consumers about the full range of pollutants in their water.

Because it has not, EWG launched a 3-year project to create the largest drinking water quality database in existence. This user-friendly, interactive resource covers 48,000 communities in 45 states and the District of Columbia.

Cities with the Best Water

EWG rated big city (population over 250,000) water utilities based on three factors: the total number of chemicals detected since 2004; the percentage of chemicals found of those tested; and the highest average level for an individual pollutant, relative to legal limits or national average amounts, including for the most common pollutants (disinfection byproducts, nitrate and arsenic). [read more on rating methodology]

EWG’s Top-Rated and Lowest-Rated Water Utilities

TOP RATED WATER UTILITIES LOWEST RATED WATER UTILITIES
1 Arlington, TX
Arlington Water Utilities
100 Pensacola, FL
Emerald Coast Water Utility
2 Providence, RI
Providence Water
99 Riverside, CA
City of Riverside Public Utilities
3 Fort Worth, TX
Fort Worth Water Department
98 Las Vegas, NV
Las Vegas Valley Water District
4 Charleston, SC
Charleston Water System
97 Riverside County, CA
Eastern Municipal Water District
5 Boston, MA
Massachusetts Water Resources Authority
96 Reno, NV
Truckee Meadows Water Authority
6 Honolulu, HI
Board of Water Supply
(Honolulu/Windward/Pearl Harbor)
95 Houston, TX
City of Houston Public Works
7 Austin, TX
Austin Water Utility
94 Omaha, NE
Metropolitan Utilities District
8 Fairfax County, VA
Fairfax Water
93 North Las Vegas, NV
City of North Las Vegas Utilities Department
9 St. Louis, MO
City of St. Louis Water Division
92 San Diego, CA
San Diego Water Department
10 Minneapolis, MN
City of Minneapolis Water Department
91 Jacksonville, FL
JEA

For other cities in the usa click on the below link

Source http://www.ewg.org/tap-water/home

www.twitter.com/ecogreentravel

www.twitter.com/b_earths_voice

www.facebook.com/ecogreentravel

72 thoughts on “Over 300 Pollutants in U.S. Tap Water

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Over 300 Pollutants in U.S. Tap Water « Eco Green Travel -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Ask EWG: What can I do about fluoride in my water?

  3. Excellent read, I just now passed this onto a colleague who had previously been doing a little research on that. Anf the husband actually bought me lunch because I stumbled upon it for him smile So allow me to rephrase that: Many thanks lunch!

  4. I had been just browsing here and there but happened to be to learn this post. I have to admit that I am in the hand of luck today if not getting this excellent post to learn to read wouldn’t happen to be achievable for me personally, no less than. Really appreciate your articles.

  5. I just happened apon your site and therefore are already reading along. I believed Rankings leave my first comment. I don’t figure out to mention other than I’ve enjoyed reading. Nice blog. Allow me to keep visiting your blog really often.

  6. Intriguing article. I am aware I’m slightly late in posting my comment even so the article ended up being to the and merely the data I used to be searching for. I can’t say i believe all you could mentioned nonetheless it was emphatically fascinating! BTW…I found your site by using a Google search. I’m a frequent visitor for a blog all of which will return again soon.

  7. This is my first visit to this blog. We are starting a new initiative in the same niche as this blog. Your blog provided us with valuable information to work with. You have done a admirable job.

  8. This post was very nicely written, and it also contains many useful facts. I enjoyed your distinguished way of writing this post. Thanks, you have made it very easy for me to understand.

  9. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So useful to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. appreciate for starting this up. this site is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. good job for bringing something new to the internet!

  10. I noticed something as well about this on another website.Incredibly, your linear perspective on it is diametrically opposite to what I read on the other blog. I am still reflecting over the conflicting points of view, but I’m tipped heavily toward your point of view. And regardless, that’s what is so splendid about modern democracy and the marketplace of ideas on-line.

  11. You really make it seem so easy with your introduction but I find this topic to be really something which I suppose I would never catch on. It seems too difficult and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  12. Nice, just to let you know the blog isnt showing up properly on my iphone – I suppose there is a plugin you can grab that takes care of that now.

  13. Admiring the commitment you put into your blog and detailed information you present. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  14. Great stuff from you, man. Ive read your stuff before and youre just too awesome. I love what youve got here, love what youre saying and the way you say it. You make it entertaining and you still manage to keep it smart. I cant wait to read more from you. this is really a great website.

  15. Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading through your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics? Thanks a lot!

  16. These kind of post are always inspiring and I prefer to read quality content so I happy to find many good point here in the post, writing is simply great, thank you for the post

  17. Im not going to say what everyone else has already said, but I do want to comment on your knowledge of the topic. Youre truly well-informed. I cant believe how much of this I just wasnt aware of. Thank you for bringing more information to this topic for me. Im truly grateful and really impressed.

  18. This is my first time I have visited this site. I found a lot of interesting stuff in your blog. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the good work.

  19. Well, this is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  20. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  21. Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading through your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics? Thanks a lot!

  22. Admiring the commitment you put into your blog and detailed information you present. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  23. I keep playing what is the news update lecture about receiving boundless online grant applications therefore i are already searching for the most effective site to get one. Can you advise me please, where could i buy some?

  24. I wanted to thank you for this interesting I definitely loved every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked your web site to check out the latest stuff you post.

  25. I’m happy I found this blog, I couldnt discover any info on this subject matter prior to. I also run a site and if you want to ever serious in a little bit of guest writing for me if possible feel free to let me know, i’/m always look for people to check out my site. Please stop by and leave a comment sometime!

  26. Awesome! Some people were talking about this on the local public television station last night. I happened to still have my DV recorder running from the previous show, so captured the whole thing – I’ll try to put it up on youtube and post a link! Peace out

  27. Well, this is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  28. Hi. I wanted to drop you a quick note to express my thanks. I have been following your blog for a month or so and have picked up a heap of good information as well as enjoyed the way you’ve structured your site.

  29. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  30. Fantastic blog! I really love how it’s easy on my eyes and also the information are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which ought to do the trick! Have a nice day!

  31. Strange this post is totaly unrelated to what I was searching google for, but it was listed on the first page. I guess your doing something right if Google likes you enough to put you on the first page of a non related search. 🙂

  32. These kind of post are always inspiring and I prefer to read quality content so I happy to find many good point here in the post, writing is simply great, thank you for the post

  33. I can see that you are an expert at your field! I am launching a website soon, and your information will be very useful for me.. Thanks for all your help and wishing you all the success in your business.

  34. I am really thankful to the author of this post for making this lovely and informative article live here for us. We really appreciate ur effort. Keep up the good work. . . .

  35. Hi. I wanted to drop you a quick note to express my thanks. I have been following your blog for a month or so and have picked up a heap of good information as well as enjoyed the way you’ve structured your site.

  36. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in our neighborhood. Your post provided us with valuable information to help us get started|.You have done a great job!

  37. You’ve got to be hard and naive not to get your point of view in this one, this is genuinely a finest post from your extra post, thanks for 1.

  38. Pretty impressive post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I’ll be coming back and I hope you post again soon.

  39. Great article! I just saw these at Target the other day and was impressed. Your review answered the questions I had about the seats – now I just need to scrape together the cash! Ouch!

  40. Kudos for posting such a useful blog. Your weblog is not only informative and also very artistic too. There usually are extremely couple of people who can write not so easy articles that creatively. Keep up the good work !

  41. This is my first time I have visited this site. I found a lot of interesting information in your blog. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the impressive work.

Leave a Reply

