Australia weighs conservation vs tourism in Blue Mountains

More than half a million people a year flock to the Blue Mountains National Park, Australia’s most accessible wilderness, to see its impressive peaks and ancient rainforest.

But Australia is grappling with a dilemma: how to balance conservation with the need for tourist spending.

“Although it looks gorgeous and beautiful it is a park under pressure — there are a lot of vulnerable species in this national park,” said Tara Cameron, a local teacher and President of Blue Mountains Conservation Society.

“It’s not a completely resilient piece of nature we can do anything with.”

Maintaining wilderness is an expensive business, and visitor numbers have fallen in recent years.

The number of trips including an overnight stay has almost halved in the last decade, from 1.045 million in 1999, according to Tourism Research Australia figures quoted in the Sydney Daily Telegraph.

They show an 18 percent drop in one year, from 687,000 in 2008 to 563,000 last year.

The New South Wales government now wants to increase both tourist numbers and spending by attracting visitors interested in a more comfortable, less rugged experience.

Its tourism strategy has attracted criticism for refusing to rule out development within the park.

Mark Jarvis, who runs a hotel in Katoomba, the main tourist town in the Blue Mountains, just an hour and a half from Sydney, said: “We’re very concerned because the uniqueness of area revolves around the fact that we sit in between World Heritage parks.

“So the fact that they are looking at developing, the fact that if there is a potential to do it, it’s not right for this area.

“It’s not in Sydney’s interests to see this area develop — the attraction for Sydney people to come here is our lack of development.”

Cameron agreed: “What I see happening in New South Wales is a distraction and diversion away from nature conservation as the primary purpose of parks — and if we don’t focus on that the standards and the state of our parks will slowly decline.”

However, Randal Walker, chairman of Blue Mountains Tourism, argued that it is possible to develop sustainable tourism without damaging the natural beauty that visitors come to see.

“If there was increased interest in development, I think those investors would only do it in terms of: is it sustainable?” said Walker. “Is there going to be a return on investment? And it’s going to be in built-up areas where zoning allows it. I don’t think there would be any development that would be a negative impact on the environment.”

“We have to have a sustainable impact on the natural asset, which all tourism operators value and treasure and want to preserve.”

Penelope Figgis, a government advisor on conservation and tourism, also believes the park has to develop.

She said: “Everybody is looking for how we can make national parks relevant into the future. We have very urbanized population who are not as connected with nature.

“The New South Wales government wanted to see how we could connect with nature but also at the same time stimulate regional economies through tourism activities related to nature conservation.

“I can’t think of a better way to persuade somebody to be an advocate for a beautiful and wild area than going there and immersing themselves in that experience,” she added.

The danger in this quest for something new, is turning nature into a commodity, argued Cameron.

“I think national parks and nature is worth more than just being the new thing, the sort of new product,” she said.

“We have 92 percent of the state of New South Wales that is taken up by people.

“Only eight percent is national park. They’re the bits that we’ve put aside for nature — do we really need to encroach on those as well.

“The coffee shop is not an endangered species. Humans are doing very well — we are looking after ourselves very well. At some point we need to say: ‘When is it nature’s turn?'”

For the rest of story head to:

Source: http://edition.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/asiapcf/11/22/australia.blue.mountains/?hpt=C2

It is important that all eco friendly green hotels and resorts follow green policies and proceedures. Appropriate certification is also important. They also need to have environmenatally responsible furniture, furniture  that is FSC certified, made from reclaimed, recycled and earth freindly materials.

www.twitter.com/ecogreentravel www.twitter.com/b_earths_voice www.facebook.com/ecogreentravel

www.ecogreentravel.wordpress.com www.blog.ecogreentravel.info

40 thoughts on “Australia weighs conservation vs tourism in Blue Mountains

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Australia weighs conservation vs tourism in Blue Mountains « Eco Green Travel -- Topsy.com

  2. Very Nice website. I recently built mine and i was looking for some ideas and you gave me a few. May i ask you whether you developed the website by youself?

    Thank you

  3. Thanks so much for this! I haven’t been this moved by a blog post for a long time! You have got it, whatever that means in blogging. Well, Youre definitely somebody that has something to say that people should hear. Keep up the good job. Keep on inspiring the people!

  4. Nice to be visiting your blog again, it has been months for me. Well this article that i’ve been waited for so long. I need this article to complete my assignment in the college, and it has same topic with your article. Thanks, great share.

  5. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I suppose that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is great website. A great read. Ill definitely be back.

  6. Keep the posting up. I never thought I would find an individual that had close to the same grasp of worldly knowldege , however, you are that beacon of hope in humanity!I hope you continue to bring your knowldge and enlightenment to the world and never let your expression be squelched! Live strong!

  7. this is by far the best looking website I’ve seen. It was completely easy to navigate and it was easy to look for the information I needed. Fantastic layout and great website!

  8. All I can say is keep it up. this website is so necessary in a time when everyone just wants to talk about how many people someones cheated on their wife with. I mean, appreciate for bringing intelligence back to the web, its been sorely missed. Great stuff. Please keep it coming!

  9. You make a great point. Got some great information here. I suppose that if more people thought about it that way, theyd have a better time figure outing the issue. Your view is definitely something Id like to see more of. appreciate for this blog. Its fantastic and so is what youve got to say.

  10. Im happy I located this blog page, I couldnt obtain any knowledge on this subject before. I also operate a website and in case you are ever serious in doing some guest writing for me please feel free to let me know, im always look for folks to check out my website. Please stop by and leave a comment sometime!

  11. Cheers for this website, It’s fantastic to see another siteEngine.NET user. Most folks these days seem to use other systems like WordPress, but I suppose siteEngine.NET is the best system to use.

  12. Finally, an issue that I am passionate about. I’ve appeared for info of this caliber for the final several hours. Your webwebsite is significantly appreciated.

  13. All I can say is keep it up. this blog is so necessary in a time when everyone just wants to talk about how many folks someones cheated on their wife with. I mean, thanks for bringing intelligence back to the web, its been sorely missed. Great stuff. Please keep it coming!

  14. There is just a large data that you simply throw out there. Thanks for your endeavours and just want you to know to keep this kind of up!

  15. Hey there, fellow, fantastic site!. However Your Blog Has a RSS feed that seem to not work properly. Thought I should bring this to your attention! Thanks

  16. Easily i’m not against what we saying but i have to exclude that you’re not valid on this issue. Why in the world person convertd a lot in course of time? Can’t we simply coincide on all causes? We comparable injury in our business.Decoding the issue want some concentrated analysis

  17. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  18. Interesting point of view. Wondering what you think of its implication on society as a whole though? Sometimes people get a little upset with global expansion. Ill be around soon to check out your response.

  19. this is such a great resource that you are providing and you give it away for free. I love seeing webwebsites that catch on the value of providing a quality resource

  20. Advantageously, the article is in reality the greatest on this notable topic. I fit in with your conclusions and will thirstily look forward to your upcoming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the tremendous lucidity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any updates. Gratifying work and much success in your business efforts!

  21. Nice to be visiting your blog again, it has been months for me. Well this article that i’ve been waited for so long. I need this article to complete my assignment in the college, and it has same topic with your article. Thanks, great share.

  22. I thought it was going to be some boring old post, but I’m glad I visited. I will post a link to this page on my blog. I believe my visitors will find that very useful.

  23. Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your opinions. Any way I’ll be coming back and I hope you post again soon.

  24. Fantastic post. I learn interesting things on different blogs everyday. Helpful stimulating to learn to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d desire to use some on this content on my blog say you decided to don’t mind. Natually I’ll construct a link in to a site. I appreciate sharing.

  25. This is my first time I have visited here. I found a lot of interesting stuff in your blog. From the tons of comments on your posts, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the impressive work.

  26. There is just a lot of data that you get rid of there. Thanks for your endeavours and just want you to know to keep this kind of up!

  27. I can see that you are an expert in this area. I am starting a website soon, and your information will be very useful for me.. Thanks for all your help and wishing you all the success in your business.

  28. Please never let your opinions and insightful knowldge be squelched, shaped, or distorted. The information you provided here regardless of its complexity or simplicity has made a major impact on my epistemological groundwork and will not be forgotten. Livestrong blogger!

  29. Wonderful post. I learn something mroe challenging on different blogs everyday. Its stimulating to read simple things content from other writers and practice a little something there. I want to use some associated with the content on my blog neighborhood retailer mind. Natually Ill produce a link back to website. Thank you sharing.

Leave a Reply

