Cruise ships and large commercial ships will be banned from dumping any kind of sewage along California’s coast

Cruise ships and large commercial ships will be banned from dumping any kind of sewage — even highly filtered wastewater — along California’s coast out to three miles from shore, under new rules from the Obama administration.

The rules, which are scheduled to be announced Wednesday at a news conference in San Francisco, give California among the strictest laws in the nation limiting pollution from large ships.

Image via odec.ca

“This is going to cover the entire California coastline,” said state Sen. Joe Simitian, D-Palo Alto. “Oceangoing vessels should not consider our coastline a place for dumping sewage.”

In 2005, Simitian wrote a bill that Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger signed banning sewage discharges in state waters from cruise ships and commercial ships larger than 300 gross tons.

That bill — the first of its kind in the nation — made it illegal for such ships to discharge oily bilge water, “gray water” from sinks and showers and other hazardous waste. But a key provision that also banned sewage releases could not legally take effect until the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency gave permission under the federal Clean Water Act.

Although California asked the EPA for permission in 2006, the Bush administration did not act on the request.

Officials at EPA regional headquarters in San Francisco declined to comment Monday, saying they would wait until the formal announcement later this week.

But people familiar with the new rule said it will add legal clarity to the state law, so that if a ship did discharge sewage close to shore, its owner could not claim it was immune from penalties because the EPA had yet to act.

“This is a giant step in the protection of our coastal waters,” said Teri Shore, program director at Turtle Island Restoration Network in San Francisco.

Industry officials said they already are complying with the state law.

“EPA has discussed it in general with us, and we said that if it follows the provisions in the Simitian statutes I don’t think it should be a problem for us,” said John Berge, vice president of the Pacific Merchant Shipping Association in San Francisco.

The association opposed Simitian’s bill but withdrew opposition when a provision was inserted allowing older ships without the capacity to hold treated sewage to discharge it in state waters.

Cruise lines said they also are following the state law.

“We don’t discharge anything within California’s three-mile limit,” said Karen Candy, a spokeswoman for Princess Cruise Lines.

Environmentalists said the clarity from EPA is important, however.

“The cruise lines have pretty much said all along they won’t dump in state waters, but there’s no enforcement,” Shore said. “It’s all voluntary. This gives it the force of law.”

With fears of international travel high after the Sept. 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, cruise ship visits to U.S. ports — particularly California stops such as Monterey, San Francisco and San Diego — grew steadily. By 2006, there were 81 cruise ship visits to San Francisco Bay, carrying 223,000 passengers.

Although the struggling economy has reduced that trend somewhat — to 62 visits and 179,000 passengers last year — the level remains more than double the pre-Sept. 11 numbers.

“Cruise ships have 3,000 or 4,000 people on them. They are little cities,” said Arthur Feinstein, vice chairman of the San Francisco Bay chapter of the Sierra Club. “You can imagine the amount of sewage they put in the water. And they are only getting bigger. So I think this makes a huge difference.”

In 2003, the city of Monterey banned all Crystal Cruise ships after the Crystal Harmony dumped 36,000 gallons of gray water and sewage in Monterey Bay. Simitian said that was the impetus behind his bill.

“I remember picking up the paper and thinking, ‘you gotta be kidding me,’ ” he said. “Their answer was ‘we didn’t break any rules.’ I remember thinking, if this isn’t against the law it ought to be.”

Source: mercurynews.com

For more information head to : http://www.eturbonews.com/18083/california-pass-strictest-cruise-ship-pollution-law-us

www.twitter.com/ecogreentravel www.twitter.com/b_earths_voice www.facebook.com/ecogreentravel

www.ecogreentravel.wordpress.com www.blog.ecogreentravel.info

www.thenaturalroom.com

47 thoughts on “Cruise ships and large commercial ships will be banned from dumping any kind of sewage along California’s coast

  1. Hey, i think you visited my website so here i am!.I am trying to find things to improve my website!Is it ok if i use some of the things i saw here?!

  2. It’s rare for me to find something on the internet that is as entertaining and intriguing as what you’ve got here. Your page is lovely, your graphics are outstanding, and what’s more, you use source that are relevant to what you’re saying. You are certainly one in a million, man!

  3. I’m still learning from you, but I’m making my way to the top as well. I definitely love reading all that is posted on your site.Keep the tips coming. I liked it!

  4. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  5. You completed a few fine points there. I did a check on the subject matter and found nearly all persons will have the same opinion with your blog.

  6. I was extremely charmed to locate this webwebsite.I wanted to thank you with regard to this the complete read!! I certainly appreciated every little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to look at new things you publish.

  7. Finally, an issue that I am passionate about. I’ve appeared for info of this caliber for the final several hours. Your webwebsite is significantly appreciated.

  8. hi, I recently came to your site and started reading along your websites. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have liked reading your blog. It is a realls nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often…

  9. I found your website while on google. I am very impressed with your writing abilities and you have it together. I am starting my own website and have been looking for inside story and you have inspired me. Thank you!

  10. Im happy I located this blog page, I couldnt obtain any knowledge on this subject before. I also operate a website and in case you are ever serious in doing some guest writing for me please feel free to let me know, im always look for folks to check out my site. Please stop by and leave a comment sometime!

  11. Congratulations on having one of the most sopsticated blogs Ive come across in some time! Its just incredible how much you can take away from something simply because of how visually beautiful it is. Youve put together a great website space –great graphellocs, videos, layout. this is definitely a must-see blog!

  12. I hope you never stop! this is one of the best blogs Ive ever read. Youve got some mad skill here, man. I just hope that you dont lose your style because youre definitely one of the coolest websitegers out there. Please keep it up because the internet needs someone like you spreading the word.

  13. Just wanted to say that you have some awesome blog on your website. If it’s allowed I would like to use some of the information you provided on my website. If I link back to this page would it be OK to do so?

  14. Hey – nice website, just looking around some blogs, seems a pretty nice platform you are using. I’m currently using WordPress for a few of my sites but looking to change one of them over to a platform similar to yours as a trial run. Anything in particular you would boost about it?

  15. Please never let your opinions and insightful knowldge be squelched, shaped, or distorted. The information you provided here regardless of its complexity or simplicity has made a major impact on my epistemological groundwork and will not be forgotten. Livestrong blogger!

  16. Advantageously, the article is in reality the greatest on this notable topic. I fit in with your conclusions and will thirstily look forward to your upcoming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the tremendous lucidity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any updates. Gratifying work and much success in your business efforts!

  17. Hey I am trying to read your post from my iphone but the words in the post are covered by the sidebar boxes. Is this site iphone compatible?

  18. We are really thankful on the author of this post for producing this lovely and informative article live for us. We really appreciate ur effort. Keep up the great work. . . .

  19. This is my first visit to this blog. We are starting a new initiative in the same niche as this blog. Your blog provided us with valuable information to work with. You have done a admirable job.

  20. Depending on yourself to make the decisions can really be upsetting and frustrating. Many of us develop this ability over the course of our life. It doesnt really just happen if you know what I mean.

  21. This post was very nicely written, and it also contains many useful facts. I enjoyed your distinguished way of writing this post. Thanks, you have made it very easy for me to understand.

  22. Finally, an issue that I am passionate about. I’ve appeared for info of this caliber for the final several hours. Your webwebsite is significantly appreciated.

  23. Wow!, this was a top quality post. In theory I’d like to write like this too – taking time and real effort to make a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and never seem to get something done

  24. There is just a quantity of info that you simply get rid of there. Thanks for your endeavours and just want you to know to maintain this kind of up!

  25. We just couldnt leave your website before telling you that we really enjoyed the quality information you offer to your visitors… Will be back often to check up on new stuff you post!

  26. I can not suggest you enough to your efforts and skills for what you’ve got published here. There should be 1 to be able to get to the point more than you.

  27. Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…I am happy to find so many useful information here in the post, we need develop more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  28. I can’t believe your blog isn’t more popular. The information you give here would be useful to many people if you were only ranked better in Google. I found your site through a friend of mine or even I wouldn’t have came.

Leave a Reply

